2010 Australian Koala Bullion Silver Coins

August 31, 2009 by · Leave a Comment 

2010 Australian Koala Bullion Silver CoinAvailable in four different sizes, the Perth Mint released today its extremely popular Australian Koala Bullion Silver Coins for 2010. This series of silver coins was first introduced to the world in 2007 and has been gaining an international following ever since.

Struck from 99.9% pure silver, the coins are all considered legal tender under the Australian Currency Act of 1965. Also, the Australian government guarantees the weight and purity of each coin the Perth Mint produces in this line.

In keeping with its legal tender status, the obverse of each of these coins contains an image of Queen Elizabeth II designed by Ian Rank-Broadley. Surrounding the Queen’s portrait are the inscriptions ‘Elizabeth II,’ ‘Australia,’ ‘2010’ and the denomination.

The reverse contains an all new image of a koala sitting on a tree branch eating leaves. The furry creatures spend most of their lives high up in the Eucalyptus trees, almost continually eating the leaves, which are toxic to most other creatures. Also shown are the inscriptions of ‘999 Silver’ and the coins size.

The Perth Mint offers the 1 oz Koala directly online while the other sizes are available through their distribution and coin dealer network. The 1 oz size is priced at $34.55 AUS or ~$30 US (changes daily based on exchange rates). To order, visit The Perth Mint page (Silver Coins Today affiliate link):

2010 Australian Koala 1oz Silver Coin

2010 Koala Silver Coin Specifications

The Perth Mint has placed no mintage limits on these beautiful coins which are available in 1 kilo, 10 oz, 1 oz and 1/2 oz sizes.

Four 2010 Australian Koala Bullion Silver Coin Sizes

Final mintage numbers will be released once the 2011 Koala Silver Bullion coins are released, thus closing out the year’s issue.

Size 1 Kilo 10 oz 1 oz 1/2 oz
Silver Content 32.151 Troy oz 10 Troy oz 1 Troy oz .5 Troy oz
Face Value $30 AUS $10 AUS $1 AUS $.50 AUS
Minimum Gross Weight 1,001.002 gms 311.347 gms 31.135 gms 15.573 gms
Maximum Diameter 100.60 mm 75.60 mm 40.60 mm 36.60 mm
Maximum Thickness 14.60 mm 8.70 mm 4.00 mm 2.30 mm


2010 Australian Koala Silver Coin Image

2010 Australian Koala Bullion Silver Coin

About the Perth Mint

The Perth Mint, wholly-owned by the State Government of Western Australia, is the official issuer of the Australian Federal Government’s Gold and Silver Bullion Coin Program. The Mint opened in 1899 in response to the discovery of rich gold deposits in Coolgardie and Kalgoorlie. It was Australia’s third branch of Britain’s Royal Mint – the others being the Sydney Mint and the Melbourne Mint (both closed).

The Perth Mint remained under Britain’s jurisdiction until 1 July 1970, when ownership transferred to the State Government of Western Australia.

In 2003, The Perth Mint officially opened an 8,400 square metre state-of-the-art manufacturing facility next door to its original limestone building. Dominating the Mint’s heritage precinct, these two important buildings are powerful symbols of more than 100 years of minting excellence in Western Australia.

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...