2010 Lunar Tiger Silver Coins

September 15, 2009 by · Leave a Comment 

2010 Lunar Tiger Silver CoinThe Perth Mint has released its 2010 Australian Lunar Tiger Silver Coins, continuing the tradition of producing the lunar silver coins it started in 1999. Corresponding to the Year of the Tiger, the 2010 coin features an image of the wild cat.

The Chinese Lunar Calendar consists of twelve differentiated years with each represented by a unique animal, which then repeat. The animals are a rat, ox, tiger, rabbit, dragon, snake, horse, sheep or goat, monkey, rooster, dog and pig or boar.

Of all the silver bullion coins produced by the Perth, the Lunar series offers the most sizes available at eight. They are 10 kilo, 1 kilo, 1/2 kilo, 10 oz, 5 oz, 2 oz, 1oz and 1/2 oz. Each of the coins is struck from 99.9% pure silver and considered legal tender under the Australian Currency Act of 1965.

Weight and purity of the coins is guaranteed by the Australian government, which keeps them in demand from bullion investors. Also, collectors will be interested in the collector proof versions and the coins with limited mintages.

The obverse or heads side of these coins contains Ian Rank-Broadleys image of Queen Elizabeth II with ‘Elizabeth II,’ ‘Australia,’ ‘2010,’ ‘999 Silver,’ the coins size and face value inscribed around her.

A sitting tiger is featured on the reverse, with ‘Year of the Tiger’ shown below the animal.

The Perth Mint offers the 1 kilo, 1 oz and a 3-coin set, which includes the 2 oz, 1 oz and 1/2 oz sizes, in collector proof condition directly on its website. To order from around the world, visit The Perth Mint page (and Silver Coins Today affiliate link):

Australian Lunar Series II 2010 Year of the Tiger Silver Proof Coin

Bullion versions are available directly from the Mint’s network of authorized wholesalers and dealers worldwide. A list may be found at http://www.perthmint.com.au/distributors.aspx.

[phpbay]Australia Lunar Tiger Coin, 4, "", ""[/phpbay]

2010 Tiger Silver Coin Specifications

Size 10 kilo 1 kilo 1/2 kilo 10 oz 5 oz 2 oz 1 oz 1/2 oz
Silver Content 321.510 Troy oz 32.151 Troy oz 16.076 Troy oz 10 Troy oz 5 Troy oz 2 Troy oz 1 Troy oz .5 Troy oz
Face Value $300 AUS $30 AUS $15 AUS $10 US $8 AUS $2 AUS $1 AUS $.50 AUS
Minimum Gross Weight 10,009.000 gms 1,003.002 gms 502.500 gms 312.347 gms 156.673 gms 62.270 gms 31.135 gms 15.573 gms
Maximum Diameter 221.00 mm 100.60 mm 100.60 mm 85.60 mm 65.60 mm 55.60 mm 45.60 mm 36.60 mm
Maximum Thickness 33.00 mm 14.60 mm 7.40 mm 6.60 mm 5.80 mm 3.60 mm 2.60 mm 2.30 mm
Maximum Mintage Limit 500 unlimited unlimited unlimited unlimited unlimited 300,000 unlimited


Tiger Silver Coin Image

2010 Australian Tiger Silver Proof Coin

About the Perth Mint

The Perth Mint, wholly-owned by the State Government of Western Australia, is the official issuer of the Australian Federal Government’s Gold and Silver Bullion Coin Program. The Mint opened in 1899 in response to the discovery of rich gold deposits in Coolgardie and Kalgoorlie. It was Australia’s third branch of Britain’s Royal Mint – the others being the Sydney Mint and the Melbourne Mint (both closed).

The Perth Mint remained under Britain’s jurisdiction until 1 July 1970, when ownership transferred to the State Government of Western Australia.

In 2003, The Perth Mint officially opened an 8,400 square metre state-of-the-art manufacturing facility next door to its original limestone building. Dominating the Mint’s heritage precinct, these two important buildings are powerful symbols of more than 100 years of minting excellence in Western Australia.

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...