2011 Koala Silver Coins

September 2, 2010 by · Leave a Comment 

The Perth Mint of Australia will release next year’s bullion 2011 Koala Silver Coins beginning on October 4, 2010. The 99.9% pure silver coins feature a new design depicting the koala, one of Australia’s most popular animals.

2011 Koala Silver Coin

The Australian Koala Bullion Silver Coin series was first introduced in 2007, and has been a popular offering ever since. The 2011 issues include four different sizes — 1 kg, 10 oz, 1 oz and 1/2 oz.

Each size has an unlimited mintage with demand dictating production. But each is limited to a single year of issue and will be discontinued when the 2012s with their new koala design are issued.

The obverse or heads side of the silver coins continue to bear the image of the Queen which was designed by Ian Rank-Broadley. Surrounding the Queen’s portrait are the inscriptions ‘ELIZABETH II,’ ‘AUSTRALIA,’ ‘2011’ and the denomination.

The reverse or tails side of each portray an adult and a young koala in the fork of a tree. Inscriptions include ‘AUSTRALIAN KOALA’, ‘2011’, the size in ounces, and ‘999 SILVER.


2011 Silver Koala Coin Specifications

The Koala Silver Coins are all considered legal tender under the Australian Currency Act of 1965. As such, their weight and purity are guaranteed by the Australian government.

Size 1 Kilo 10 oz 1 oz 1/2 oz
Silver Content (Troy oz) 32.151 Troy oz 10 Troy oz 1 Troy oz .5 Troy oz
Face Value (AUD) $30 $10 $1 $.50
Minimum Gross Weight (g) 1,001.002 311.347 31.135 15.573
Maximum Diameter (mm) 100.60 75.60 40.60 36.60
Maximum Thickness (mm) 14.60 8.70 4.00 2.30


About the Perth Mint

The Perth Mint (http://www.perthmint.com.au/), wholly-owned by the State Government of Western Australia, is the official issuer of the Australian Federal Government’s Gold and Silver Bullion Coin Program. The Mint opened in 1899 in response to the discovery of rich gold deposits in Coolgardie and Kalgoorlie. It was Australia’s third branch of Britain’s Royal Mint – the others being the Sydney Mint and the Melbourne Mint (both closed).

The Perth Mint remained under Britain’s jurisdiction until 1 July 1970, when ownership transferred to the State Government of Western Australia.

In 2003, The Perth Mint officially opened an 8,400 square metre state-of-the-art manufacturing facility next door to its original limestone building. Dominating the Mint’s heritage precinct, these two important buildings are powerful symbols of more than 100 years of minting excellence in Western Australia.

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...